Home > Semantic Web > Semantic Web – PriceWaterhouseCoopers’ take

Semantic Web – PriceWaterhouseCoopers’ take


I recently stumbled upon a free quarterly technology forecast from PriceWaterhouseCoopers. Here’s the link to access current and previous issues.

Anyway, I was very interested in their Spring 2009 edition, which is all about the Semantic Web. I’m still trying to get my mind around what I believe will be profound changes the Semantic Web will bring to the way both applications are written and information is managed – both inside and outside the enterprise. I’m particularly fascinated with how the Semantic Web models data as a graph of nodes – and the advantages this form of knowledge representation has over more traditional relational database modeling.

I’ll be posting further on the Semantic Web in the coming weeks, and I’ll explore both how graph-like data representation differs from traditional relational modeling, and the benefits such a representation provides over more traditional data modeling approaches.

glenn

Categories: Semantic Web Tags:

Leave a Reply

