Home > Business Design, Design Thinking > The Design of Business, and Roger Martin

The Design of Business, and Roger Martin


Another person’s work whom I’m just encountering is that of Roger Martin, Dean of the Rotman School of Management at the University of Toronto. Martin wrote a book in 2009 titled The Design of Business: Why Design Thinking is the Next Competitive Advantage. To be honest, I’ve haven’t read the book, though I do have it on order and look forward to reading it.

I first heard of Roger Martin through an interview by Alexander Osterwalder. Having read Daniel Pink’s book A Whole New Mind, and with Apple’s incredible success designing and launching new technology-based products, I was aware of the view that design is playing an increasingly significant role in business today. My sense is that Martin is part of this “movement”.

I’ve found a couple videos on the web of Martin speaking, but this one looks the most interesting:

I’ll update this post as I learn more about Martin’s views and approach.

glenn

Leave a Reply

